Vixen DD-3 autoguide question

Questions about hardware and software not obtained from Shoestring Astronomy, but related to our products
Post Reply
Slippy
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2013 10:09 pm
Anti-spam question: Astronomy

Vixen DD-3 autoguide question

Post by Slippy » Sat Aug 10, 2013 10:21 am

I recently ordered a Vixen DD-1 RA/Dec controller and 2 MT-1 motors for my old SP mount. Since the store was out of stock, when a DD-3 became available, they shipped that to me in its place. The DD-3 has a built-in autoguide port already on it (the port is ST-compatible).

I had purchased the mod kit and the GPUSB-AH to add an autoguide port to the DD-1.

My question is, can I use the GPUSB-AH with the DD-3 so I can plug it in to my USB port for autoguiding control, or would I need the regular GPUSB (I actually have both).

Or would I need something else?

Thanks,

Slippy

dpanderson
Site Admin
Posts: 1025
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2006 1:34 pm
Location: central Iowa
Contact:

Re: Vixen DD-3 autoguide question

Post by dpanderson » Sat Aug 10, 2013 12:26 pm

I don't know the details of the DD-3, but since it already has the autoguide port built in, I think the GPUSB will work.
Doug Anderson
Shoestring Astronomy
http://www.ShoestringAstronomy.com

Slippy
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2013 10:09 pm
Anti-spam question: Astronomy

Re: Vixen DD-3 autoguide question

Post by Slippy » Sat Aug 10, 2013 2:08 pm

That's about what I thought. I'll do a test with the GPUSB and see how it handles.

Thanks,

Slippy

dpanderson
Site Admin
Posts: 1025
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2006 1:34 pm
Location: central Iowa
Contact:

Re: Vixen DD-3 autoguide question

Post by dpanderson » Sun Aug 11, 2013 5:06 pm

Please post your findings here after you complete your testing for the benefit of other users.

Thanks,
Doug Anderson
Shoestring Astronomy
http://www.ShoestringAstronomy.com

sws105
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2015 2:25 pm
Anti-spam question: Astronomy

Re: Vixen DD-3 autoguide question

Post by sws105 » Sun Jan 17, 2016 10:34 am

Slippy,

Did you use the gpusb or the gpusb-ah?

Thanks
steve

Post Reply