BT2EQ5 with EQ8

Here's the spot for anything else Shoestring or astronomy related
Post Reply
astrobooder
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 7:30 am
Anti-spam question: Astronomy

BT2EQ5 with EQ8

Post by astrobooder » Tue Feb 10, 2015 4:25 am

Hi All,
someone was asking if there was an BT2 version for the EQ8 on the SGL forum. I am not sure there is, but do any of you know if the V4 Hand controller RJ connections for the EQ8 are the same as the V3? If so, would not the BT2EQ5 work with the EQ8?

Clear skies,
Simon.

dpanderson
Site Admin
Posts: 1018
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2006 1:34 pm
Location: central Iowa
Contact:

Re: BT2EQ5 with EQ8

Post by dpanderson » Wed Feb 11, 2015 9:21 pm

If the port where the handcontroller plugs into the EQ8 mount is an 8-pin modular connector, then the BT2EQ5 is what you need.
Doug Anderson
Shoestring Astronomy
http://www.ShoestringAstronomy.com

Dennis1951
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2015 12:18 pm
Anti-spam question: Astronomy

Re: BT2EQ5 with EQ8

Post by Dennis1951 » Sat Jun 20, 2015 5:59 pm

Do you know anyone that has used the BT2EQ5 with Sequence Generator Pro to control the mount ?? Trying to get rid of one very long USB cable.
I am using the Atlas Pro mount. Wondering if there are any problems using SGP with the BT product. Thanks.

Dennis

dpanderson
Site Admin
Posts: 1018
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2006 1:34 pm
Location: central Iowa
Contact:

Re: BT2EQ5 with EQ8

Post by dpanderson » Mon Jun 22, 2015 4:28 pm

I am not aware of anyone, but I often do not hear the details of a customer's setup. You might try a post on the EQMOD Yahoo group:
https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/EQMOD/info
Doug Anderson
Shoestring Astronomy
http://www.ShoestringAstronomy.com

Post Reply