DPUSB and USB hub

Questions about hardware and software not obtained from Shoestring Astronomy, but related to our products
Post Reply
Nils_lars
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 10:31 pm

DPUSB and USB hub

Post by Nils_lars » Fri Jan 30, 2009 5:00 pm

I have recently started using my scope in my backyard and in order to run it I am using 3 USB repeater cables and if I connect the DPUSB directly to the cable it works fine but if I connect the 4 port hub I have it does not recognize it , however with the hub connected I can connect to my camera and Orion SSAG.

Is there some kind of issue I am not seeing , maybe the 4 port is to many , it does say on the box only 5 cables so does that mean I can only have a 2 port hub , but then why does the other devices work?

Any advice would be helpful thanks.

dpanderson
Site Admin
Posts: 974
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2006 1:34 pm
Location: central Iowa
Contact:

Re: DPUSB and USB hub

Post by dpanderson » Fri Jan 30, 2009 5:14 pm

Hmmm... This is a very strange problem, and one that I have not heard of before. I am not sure how to go about diagnosing the problem. I can only think of a couple of things to try:

1) Make sure you have the latest version of our DLL. Download it from http://store.shoestringastronomy.com/downloads.htm, then you will need to copy it to whatever folder the software you are using expects it to be in.

2) Try every port on the hub.

3) Try some of the more frequented astronomy and astrophotography forums to see if someone else has encountered this problem and solved it.
Doug Anderson
Shoestring Astronomy
http://www.ShoestringAstronomy.com

henryz
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2018 4:10 pm
Anti-spam question: Astronomy

Re: DPUSB and USB hub

Post by henryz » Thu Aug 02, 2018 10:42 am

Hi Nils_lars,
I am new to astrophotography and this forum so I don't know if I qualify to be giving advice. It sounds like I am setting up my telescope like you. I have a Nikon D7000 which I connect to BackyardNIKON. I plug the DSUSB cable into a 7 port USB3 hub, which connects to a USB2 active repeater cable and my laptop. The only difference I can see is I have a powered USB3 hub. I hope this helps you.

Post Reply