GPUSB not connecting to FireCapture

Questions about hardware and software not obtained from Shoestring Astronomy, but related to our products
Post Reply
cvmonk
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 6:43 pm
Anti-spam question: Astronomy

GPUSB not connecting to FireCapture

Post by cvmonk » Wed Oct 24, 2012 9:42 pm

Now Shoestring GPUSB should appear in the list of telescopes in the ASCOM Telescope Chooser. The GPUSB ASCOM driver knows that it is supposed to find the GPUSB on a USB port and not on a serial

I think my problem is that GPUSB is not appearing in the list of telescope in the ASCOM Telescope chooser. Thanks for any suggestions
Bill

dpanderson
Site Admin
Posts: 971
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2006 1:34 pm
Location: central Iowa
Contact:

Re: GPUSB not connecting to FireCapture

Post by dpanderson » Thu Oct 25, 2012 5:45 pm

Have you downloaded and installed the GPUSB ASCOM Driver found on:
http://store.shoestringastronomy.com/downloads.htm
Doug Anderson
Shoestring Astronomy
http://www.ShoestringAstronomy.com

cvmonk
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 6:43 pm
Anti-spam question: Astronomy

Re: GPUSB not connecting to FireCapture

Post by cvmonk » Wed Oct 31, 2012 5:24 pm

Yes, I have downloaded it several times but GPUSB still does not show up Profile Explorer or in Firecapture when I initialize the autoguiding section.

dpanderson
Site Admin
Posts: 971
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2006 1:34 pm
Location: central Iowa
Contact:

Re: GPUSB not connecting to FireCapture

Post by dpanderson » Wed Oct 31, 2012 6:23 pm

From Windows, if you try Start -> All Programs -> ASCOM Platform -> Scope Dome Hubs -> POTH Scope Dome Hub. Then from POTH do Setup -> Choose Scope, do you see Shoestring GPUSB in the list of choices?

Other than an unstall/re-install of the ASCOM platform and the GPUSB ASCOM driver, I am not sure what advice I can offer. You might try the FireCapture or ASCOM Yahoo Groups to see if other users have some ideas.
Doug Anderson
Shoestring Astronomy
http://www.ShoestringAstronomy.com

cvmonk
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 6:43 pm
Anti-spam question: Astronomy

Re: GPUSB not connecting to FireCapture

Post by cvmonk » Thu Nov 01, 2012 9:44 am

I followed your instructions and the same list came up that is listed in FireCapture with no GPUSB. It is interesting that GPUSB is listed in my PHD program. I will try a complete uninstall/reinstall.

cvmonk
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 6:43 pm
Anti-spam question: Astronomy

Re: GPUSB not connecting to FireCapture

Post by cvmonk » Thu Nov 01, 2012 5:21 pm

When I install the GPUSB driver I get this message that pops up in notebook. What am I supposed to do with this?

'
' Script to self-register the Shoestring Astronomy GPUSB telescope driver '
'dim x
Set x = CreateObject("GPUSB.Telescope")
msgbox x.DriverInfo
Set x = Nothing

dpanderson
Site Admin
Posts: 971
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2006 1:34 pm
Location: central Iowa
Contact:

Re: GPUSB not connecting to FireCapture

Post by dpanderson » Thu Nov 01, 2012 5:44 pm

Unfortunately I have no idea why you get that message. The only thing I can suggest is to uninstall the GPUSB ASCOM driver and the entire ASCOM platform, then re-install the platform first, then re-install the GPUSB ASCOM driver.
Doug Anderson
Shoestring Astronomy
http://www.ShoestringAstronomy.com

dpanderson
Site Admin
Posts: 971
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2006 1:34 pm
Location: central Iowa
Contact:

Re: GPUSB not connecting to FireCapture

Post by dpanderson » Thu Nov 01, 2012 5:50 pm

I just noticed your first post of the day. You say that GPUSB shows up in PHD but not Firewire. Thus, it seems that the problem lies with Firewire. I recommend you contact them for support.
Doug Anderson
Shoestring Astronomy
http://www.ShoestringAstronomy.com

chrisjacob
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2013 5:05 am
Anti-spam question: Astronomy

Re: GPUSB not connecting to FireCapture

Post by chrisjacob » Mon Dec 23, 2013 2:50 am

Thanks Anderson for providing the right solution. I was also experiencing the similar issue GPUSB not displaying in the list of telescope in the ASCOM Telescope chooser. I had already installed the drivers. As you have suggested I went to POTH Scope Dome Hub and did the software selected manually, which fixed the issue for me.

dish network channel list

Post Reply