Can i use bt2eq5 on an az-eq6?

Questions about hardware and software obtained directly from Shoestring Astronomy
Colonelclunk
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 12, 2017 2:04 am
Anti-spam question: Astronomy

Can i use bt2eq5 on an az-eq6?

Postby Colonelclunk » Mon May 15, 2017 9:14 pm

Hi Doug. I bought a bt2eq6 for my az-eq6. Apparently I should have bought the bt2eq5 due to having an RJ45 connector on the az-eq6? Rather than post the bt devices back and forth btn AUS and US can I use an rj45 to db9 converter? I'm concerned that they might be wired differently (the different skywatcher ports). Or should i just post the bt2eq6 back?
Regards
Clinton

dpanderson
Site Admin
Posts: 944
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2006 1:34 pm
Location: central Iowa
Contact:

Re: Can i use bt2eq5 on an az-eq6?

Postby dpanderson » Tue May 16, 2017 7:24 pm

You could make a cable that converted from the DB9 to RJ45. I believe the pinouts are on the EQMOD website. If you would rather swap, please email your shipping address to doug@shoestringastronomy.com and I will get the BT2EQ5 in the mail to you at my next opportunity knowing you will ship the BT2EQ6 back.
Doug Anderson
Shoestring Astronomy
http://www.ShoestringAstronomy.com

Colonelclunk
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 12, 2017 2:04 am
Anti-spam question: Astronomy

Re: Can i use bt2eq5 on an az-eq6?

Postby Colonelclunk » Wed May 17, 2017 7:54 am

Excellent, thanks Doug, I'll do the cable.
Cheers
Clint


Return to “Shoestring Hardware and Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests