FCUSB Maxim DL

Questions about hardware and software not obtained from Shoestring Astronomy, but related to our products
Post Reply
rswaney
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 12:58 pm

FCUSB Maxim DL

Post by rswaney » Tue Dec 19, 2006 1:34 pm

Anybody had any luck using FCUSB and Maxim DL

Maxim DL recognizes the Focuer but you can't control it.


FCUSB works great with ALL my other ASCOM software.


Thanks,
Russ

dpanderson
Site Admin
Posts: 962
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2006 1:34 pm
Location: central Iowa
Contact:

Post by dpanderson » Wed Dec 20, 2006 1:33 pm

Russ,

I have not tried the FCUSB with MaximDL myself. Hopefully someone will come along that has tried it.

Have you tried MaximDL tech support yet?
Doug Anderson
Shoestring Astronomy
http://www.ShoestringAstronomy.com

dpanderson
Site Admin
Posts: 962
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2006 1:34 pm
Location: central Iowa
Contact:

Post by dpanderson » Thu Jan 04, 2007 8:45 am

Russ,

I continue to work with MaximDL tech support on this issue, but no resolution yet. Hang in there...
Doug Anderson
Shoestring Astronomy
http://www.ShoestringAstronomy.com

dpanderson
Site Admin
Posts: 962
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2006 1:34 pm
Location: central Iowa
Contact:

Post by dpanderson » Sun Jan 28, 2007 9:01 am

Russ,

I am still working with the guys at MaximDL on this one. I sent them an FCUSB to use to try and debug the problem. They have responded once or twice, but no resolution yet.
Doug Anderson
Shoestring Astronomy
http://www.ShoestringAstronomy.com

dpanderson
Site Admin
Posts: 962
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2006 1:34 pm
Location: central Iowa
Contact:

Post by dpanderson » Mon Mar 19, 2007 3:48 pm

Russ,

The folks at Maxim have the bug fixed. It was primarily my fault, but they created a work-around for it. Contact them to get an updated version.
Doug Anderson
Shoestring Astronomy
http://www.ShoestringAstronomy.com

rkfoat
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 9:15 am
Location: South-Eastern Wisconsin

MaxIm DL/CCD bug fixed

Post by rkfoat » Fri Aug 31, 2007 9:30 am

Doug,

Sorry about butting in on this thread...

I have a new copy of MaxIm DL/CCD coming at this moment... When I get it I will be requesting the newest version. It would be most efficient to request the correct version to use my new FCUSB.

Would you have the version of Maxim to request for this bug fix?

Heavenly Views....! Ronald

dpanderson
Site Admin
Posts: 962
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2006 1:34 pm
Location: central Iowa
Contact:

Post by dpanderson » Fri Aug 31, 2007 10:09 am

I couldn't find mention of it in there Release Notes at:
http://www.cyanogen.com/help/maximdl/Ma ... _Notes.htm

I do know that it was on or about March 9, 2007, so I would think any version after that date should be fine.
Doug Anderson
Shoestring Astronomy
http://www.ShoestringAstronomy.com

tommy
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2010 7:32 pm
Anti-spam question: Astronomy

Re: FCUSB Maxim DL

Post by tommy » Tue Sep 14, 2010 8:30 pm

I am not getting any position readouts in MaxIm DL 5.12 for the focus position, under focus status. Anyone getting this info from FCUSB? When the focuser does move, the readout goes to "moving" then back to "unknown"

I am using ASCOM Platform 5.5, FCUSB v1.3.0 on Windows 7 Ultimate, 32 bit. I downloaded the latest ShoestringFCUSB_DLL.dll and put it in C:\Program Files\Diffraction Limited\MaxIm DL V5\

(note: the .dll for DSUSB , GPUSB and LXUSB were already in this directory for MaxIM, but FCUSB was not, as if the driver installation program for the Shoestring autofocuser only installed the first three automatically)

Initially when I pulled up MaxIm DL observatory control, and connected the FCSUB to the focuser 1 unit, I could not get the focuser to move via the controls in MaxImDL. Even though I could control it though my other ASCOM programs. However, I noticed that the 'incremental' setting is set to '1' and "move in" or 'move out' would not move the Orion AccuFocus unit. Once I set the incremental setting to "10000", those move buttons worked, well it moved, but it does not seem like the value matters, It moves the same distance if I put in 10000 or 50000. Any ideas on that, too?

I've tried connecting MaxIM to POTH and then POTH to the FCUSB, and I get the same thing.

Any thoughts would be helpful.Thank you
Tommy

dpanderson
Site Admin
Posts: 962
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2006 1:34 pm
Location: central Iowa
Contact:

Re: FCUSB Maxim DL

Post by dpanderson » Tue Sep 21, 2010 8:50 am

The ASCOM standard allows for two different types of focusers, absolute and relative. Since focusers supported by the FCUSB do not have encoders built into them that allow them to know exactly where they are, the FCUSB ASCOM driver is set up as a relative type focuser. It looks like the developers of MaximDL have chosen to not display any position information for relative focusers.

Another property defined in the ASCOM focuser standard is a Max Increment parameter. For the FCUSB ASCOM driver, we have set this to 1000. Thus, I am guessing that MaximDL will use the Max Increment value if you type in something greater.

The number typed into Maxim for the increment parameter is the amount of time in milliseconds that the FCUSB will energize the focus motor. A value of 1000 means that it will run the motor for 1 second each time the Move In or Move Out button is pressed.
Doug Anderson
Shoestring Astronomy
http://www.ShoestringAstronomy.com

Post Reply