Newbie needs a sense of direction - autoguiding??

Questions about hardware and software not obtained from Shoestring Astronomy, but related to our products
Veloce
Anti-spam question: Astronomy

Newbie needs a sense of direction - autoguiding??

Post by Veloce » Thu Apr 14, 2011 5:15 pm

Hi everybody. I'm new to the art of pointing a telescope by magic but have acquired a few bits of kit to start with. Perhaps if I ramble on a bit, I might give a few clues concerning what I need to do.
I acquired a Newtonian on a german mount, which I understand to be a CG5 or EQ5. This mount has been motorised on both axes using a Nexstar controller. It works OK as a GOTO system for visual use.
My intention is to control it from a Laptop rather than the little handset, and to autoguide it using a guidescope. Then, if it is steady enough, I can bother everybody with awkward questions about taking pictures . . . . .
However, two things are interfering with the masterplan. First, the only laptop I have is borrowed. I shall buy one in due course, but for now this is out. The borrowed one only runs Linux (debian)
Second, my mainframe (OK, Midi-tower) just went pop and is being replaced. If I have to spend money on Windows then I suppose I must, but astronomy will then be the only application on this platform. Everything else I do avoids Microsoft like the plague. Therefore, instead of the new machine being dual-boot Win and Linux, I would prefer to keep it all Linux, as long as I can do my stargazing on the Linux platform.